Accueil > Recherche > Chaire de Mécanique Picardie > Les actualités de la Chaire

Award Gay-Lussac Humboldt 2016 at proposal by Adnan Ibrahimbegovic

Press Release - 23/01/2017 Mrs. Najat Vallaud-Belkacem and M Thierry Mandon :

Gay-Lussac Humboldt Prize is awarded in France by the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research with the assistance of the Academy of Sciences. The Academy of Sciences - Institute de France, is charged to nominate the award committee of academicians.

The Gay-Lussac Humboldt Prize recognizes outstanding and internationally renowned German scientists. Two prizes worth € 60,000 each are awarded to scientists who are working in Germany, whose applications are presented by the French partners with whom they have developed or plan to develop cooperation.

In 2016, the senior of two laureates is Hermann Matthies, Professor of Universities, Director of the Institut für Wissentschaftiliches Rechnen (scientific computing) at the University of Technology in Braunschweig. Scientific computing and the computer sciences are the field of research of Hermann Matthies. He has worked on the development of numerical simulation methods in mechanics and on coupled and multi-physical problems. His recent work has focused on the quantification of uncertainties as well as inverse problems in a Bayesian framework, developed further in the treatment of multiscale problems.

His candidacy was presented by Professor Adnan Ibrahimbegovic, holder of the Chair of Mechanics at U.T.C., supported by Pierre Ladevèze of E.N.S. Cachan and Prof. Roger Ohayon of CNAM.

For more information, consult :